Innovations for the New Energy World - Submit Your International Award Application Now

Press release – Thursday, December 1, 2022

Pforzheim, December 1, 2022: The smarter E innovation hub presents technologies, solutions and business models for the new energy world – and honors pioneers and innovators in the energy sector for the invaluable contribution they make to the industry and society as a whole. The best in each class will receive the The smarter E AWARD, the Intersolar AWARD, the ees AWARD, the Power2Drive AWARD and the EM-Power AWARD, respectively, with the latter two being presented for the first time in the upcoming year. Starting from December 1, market leaders, SMEs, start-ups, as well as plant and system owners can submit their application.

Solar Promotion GmbH

The first Power2Drive AWARD: 2023 will see the first award for innovations in the field of electromobility. The prize will go to companies with innovative products, services and business models in the areas of charging infrastructure (smart charging solutions), electric vehicles, mobility services, vehicle-integrated PV and traction batteries – in short, companies whose concepts and technologies are contributing to making a smart, sustainable mobility transition happen. Players with a can-do attitude and pioneers who intelligently interconnect the energy and the mobility sectors, who save resources or who drive and establish electromobility are eligible for this award.

2023 will also see the first EM-Power AWARD for outstanding technologies and services supporting the efficient distribution and use of renewable energies, intelligent energy management for smart grids and microgrids as well as the integration of prosumers, e-mobility and power-to-heat (P2H) into a holistic energy system. Key topics include grid infrastructure, energy services and operator models.

The smarter E AWARD honors unique projects for the generation, use or smart integration of renewable energies. In 2022, this award went to Fluence Energy GmbH and their pilot project Grid Scale BESS. The project was for a battery-based energy storage system within a transmission system in Vilnius, Lithuania, to make the region more energy independent. Another project that received a The smarter E AWARD was Fenecon GmbH’s project Tokai 2 for a stationary storage system combining new car batteries with used batteries from electric vehicles to provide a primary balancing reserve to stabilize the grid. The Smart Solar Irrigation System (SirriS), a project by the Center for Renewable Energy Services which also received an Award in 2022, supplies solar power for sensor-controlled irrigation pumps in Bangladesh.

The Intersolar AWARD puts photovoltaics companies and their innovations center stage. Photovoltaic modules with high-efficiency cells, reduced shading losses, lead-free modules and reusable transport units were but some of the innovations that made it into the final round of the Intersolar AWARD in 2022. Gamesa Electric were recognized for their high-performance PROTEUS PV4700 central inverter for large solar parks, REC Solar for the Alpha Pure lead-free photovoltaic module and M10 Solar Equipment were honored for their innovative shingle matrix interconnection system for solar cells.

The ees AWARD is the innovation prize of the storage industry and honors groundbreaking products and solutions for efficient, comprehensive energy storage. The EnerOne battery storage system by Contemporary Amperex Technology (CATL), the STABL SI 100 modular multi-level converter by STABL Energy and the Voltfang Industrial commercial storage system made from second-life car batteries are all examples of innovative products – and winners of the ees AWARD 2022.

Finalists and winners receive public attention
Companies and organizations can submit their innovations in the areas of electricity and heat supply, photovoltaics, energy storage, electromobility and energy management until March 17, 2023. The applications will be assessed by an international panel of judges made up of industry experts. The most important evaluation criteria include the pioneering character, degree of innovation and uniqueness as well as the economic and environmental benefits. Thanks to the resulting public attention, finalists and winners will distinguishing themselves from their competition and may benefit from new business opportunities. The awards will be presented on a large stage on June 13, 2023, the eve of The smarter E Europe 2023, at ICM München.

Further information on the awards, the general terms and conditions of participation, and how to apply is available here .

Further information on the awards can be found at:

You are using an outdated browser

The website cannot be viewed in this browser. Please open the website in an up-to-date browser such as Edge, Chrome, Firefox, or Safari.